The city of Dipolog and the municipality of Roxas have been chosen as the venues for the upcoming Pilipinas Super League (PSL) scheduled to start on March 18. 

This year’s tournament will serve as the inaugural season of the PSL—the latest regional basketball league in the country. 

This new cup was the work of those behind the Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup, which held two successful conferences last year.

Before landing on Dipolog and Roxas, the organizers were also considering Pagadian City and Cagayan de Oro City as potential hosts—venues for last year’s Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup. 

A total of 12 teams are expected to participate in the introductory league, including Roxas’ very own, the Roxas Vanguards

So far, six teams have signed up for the cup—the Lapu-Lapu Chiefs ARQ Builders, Bicol Spicy Oragons, Davao Occidental Tigers, Cagayan Valley Golden Eagles, Cagayan de Oro Higalas, and the Vanguards. 

The tournament will follow a single-round robin elimination format with eight teams advancing to the knockout stage.

PSL aims to nurture and foster local basketball talents, specifically young players who deserve exposure in the mainstream basketball scene. It was founded by Rocky Chan and Chelito Caro. Meanwhile, former PBA star Marc Pingris serves as the commissioner. 

Want more news like this one? Head over to Nation Builder PH Sports Section for the latest updates.

Image credit: Christian Rebero via Unsplash, PSL’s Official Facebook Page