To kickstart domestic travel and hasten the recovery of the tourism sector amid the COVID-19 health crisis, numerous popular destinations in the country have decided to further ease restrictions for fully-vaccinated individuals.

According to the Department of Tourism (DOT), 14 local government units (LGUs) have waived swab testing for guests who’ve already received full doses of the COVID-19 shot. 

Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat received the news with pleasure, noting they’ve been advocating for the soothing of protocols in areas that have high vaccination rates, specifically when it comes to tourism workers. 

“We thank the LGUs for this development especially now that the number of tourists is slowly picking up. We hope that in the months ahead, we will achieve a hundred percent vaccination rate so we can push for a big move for tourism revival,” Romulo-Puyat said.

Here’s the list of tourist spots that fully vaccinated travelers can go to without undergoing (RT-PCR) and antigen testing (as of October 24): 

  1. Cebu Province
  2. Lapu-Lapu City
  3. Catbalogan City
  4. Bohol
  5. Iloilo City
  6. Negros Occidental
  7. Clark Freeport Zone (except travelers from areas under ECQ)
  8. Subic Bay Freeport Zone
  9. Tarlac (for travelers coming from ECQ and MECQ areas)
  10. Masbate Province
  11. Southern Leyte
  12. Tacloban City
  13. Maasin City
  14. Misamis Oriental

DOT said those wishing to travel to Bohol, Iloilo City, and Negros Occidental are required to present vaccination certificates acquired through VaxCertPH via the Department of Health (DOH) website.

The other destinations are also requiring vaccination certificates, however, DOT is advising travelers to contact concerned LGUs for updated entry requirements.

Want more news like this one? Head over to Nation Builder PH Travel Section for the latest updates.

Image credit: Chen Mizrach via Unsplash