More communities in Bulacan are set to receive access to potable water thanks to San Miguel Corporation’s (SMC) Bulacan Bulk Water Supply Project (BBWSP).

On Tuesday (September 7), SMC announced that Stage 3 of its BBWSP will start operations by January 2023. 

According to the company, they’ve already forged an agreement with seven districts that will be covered by the water project. Included in this are the towns of Norzagaray, Hagonoy, Pandi, Baliwag, San Rafael, San Miguel, and San Ildefonso.

“We are targeting start of operations by January 2023. With these agreements signed with the seven water districts, and with the MWSS [Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System] having approved the updated business plan, we can now start preliminary engineering design, and then construction,” San Miguel President Ramon S. Ang said.

“We anticipate that in just a year-and-a-half, we can start operating these new water facilities, and all our countrymen in these areas in Bulacan will finally have reliable access to safe, affordable potable water,” Ang added. 

However, SMC noted that they have yet to connect with the towns of Pulilan, Angat, Dona Remedios Trinidad, and Bustos. The multinational conglomerate said they hope to ink similar agreements with them soon.

SMC said the project will be of great help to communities in Bulacan since they’ve relied on groundwater for the longest time. 

“With more residents able to immediately access water through our facilities, the need to rely on dwindling groundwater supply is eliminated. Experts have said groundwater extraction is one of the causes of land subsidence, or the gradual sinking of the ground, and this worsens flooding in the province. Like our upcoming major clean up Bulacan’s rivers, the BBWSP forms part of our larger strategy to help mitigate and solve flooding here,” Ang explained. 

At present, BBWSP provides water supply to 13 areas, which are covered by the first and second stages that were kickstarted in 2019. 

These include the cities of San Jose del Monte, Marilao, Meycauayan, Bocaue, Obando and Balagtas, Guiguinto, Calumpit, Bulakan, Plaridel, Sta. Maria, Paombong, and Malolos.

Want more news like this one? Head over to Nation Builder PH Business News Section for the latest updates.

Image credit: Imani via Unsplash